Skip to main content

What to do when a client cancels

Three steps to update a cancelled project in HoneyBook

Here are three steps to take in HoneyBook to process a project cancellation.

​Step 1: Issue any refunds

Depending on the contract you and your client signed, they may be entitled to a partial or full refund. Review your contract language and proceed with the required refunds.

Step 2: Send a cancellation amendment

If your client already signed a contract, you'll likely want to create and send a cancellation amendment. This amendment should:

  • Terminate all agreed upon obligations between both parties

  • Address the project changes

  • Address what's expected to happen with any fees/retainers that have already been paid or that are outstanding

📣 Note

All businesses, projects, clients, and situations are different. Check with a lawyer to confirm the best procedure for the specific situation you encounter.

​Step 3: Archive the project

To make sure you continue to have a record of this project, archive the project instead of deleting it entirely.

When you archive a project, you’ll be asked what should happen to its booked smart files:

  • Keep them active: This option is selected by default. Booked smart files remain active, so clients can continue taking action and any associated payments and payment reminders remain active.

  • Expire them: Booked smart files expire when you archive the project. Clients can still view expired files, but they can’t take further action. Expiring the files also stops automatic payments, cancels future payments that aren’t set to autopay, and stops payment reminders.

The project will be removed from the active stage of your pipeline and remain available in the Archived stage. You can unarchive the project at any time.


Still have questions? Feel free to send us a message by clicking the Question Mark icon on any HoneyBook page. Our team is always happy to help!