Deleting a Project will permanently remove the Workspace, as well as all files and communication that are housed in it. Only use this option if you're sure there's nothing in the Project you need to save!

Archiving a Project simply hides it from your main Pipeline and pauses any HoneyBook notifications, payment reminders, or automated payments that your client might have been receiving previously. The Project will, however, always be accessible in the Archived section of your Pipeline, and can be un-archived if necessary. Archiving is a great option for general Pipeline "clean up."

You can also bulk update your Projects to delete them or archive them — check out how here!

PLEASE NOTE: If a Project contains a file on which a payment has been made, the Project can not be deleted — it will need to be archived.

In this article, we'll review:



Deleting a Project

Remember that deleting a Project means that neither you nor your clients will be able to access Contracts, Invoices, or any other file that had been housed in the Project; nor will either side be able to open the Project Workspace any longer. All record of the Project will be permanently removed from your HoneyBook account once deleted, so proceed with caution!

To delete:

1.  From your HoneyBook home page, click the Projects tab.

2.  Find the Project you're looking to delete — you can find it under All, or in the tab that corresponds to the Project's stage.

3.  Hover over the Project and click the Options button that appears.

4.  Click Delete.


You can also delete a Project from within the Workspace itself. Just click the 3-dot icon on the right side of the screen and select Delete Workspace.

Archiving a Project

Archiving simply involves moving the Project to the archived Pipeline stage, and selecting the reason for archive. Completing the archive will:

  • Stop clients from receiving any HoneyBook's automated messages, payment reminders, or any other communication from your HoneyBook account
  • Stop any automated or recurring payments you'd previously set up
  • Expire all files within the Project (you'll still be able to access them, but no further action can be taken by you or your clients)
  • Remove the Project from the active stages of your Project Pipeline

PLEASE NOTE: No Project, file, payment, or client information will be deleted upon archive. Outstanding payment information will be removed from your Bookkeeping section, but any paid payments will still be tracked in both Bookkeeping and Reports.

To archive:

1.  From your HoneyBook home page, click the Projects tab.

2.  Find the Project you're looking to delete — you can find it under All, or in the tab that corresponds to the Project's stage.

3.  Hover over the Project and click the Options button that appears.

4. Click Archive.

5.  Select the Archive Reason.

6.  Click Archive.

You can also archive a Project from within the Workspace itself. Just click the stage drop-down menu on the right side of the screen and select Archive.

Need to un-archive? No prob. You can always un-archive a Project simply by repeating the process above, but selecting the appropriate active stage. This will move your Project back into your main Pipeline. Learn more about what happens when you un-archive here.






Want to learn more?

Still have questions? Feel free to send us a message by clicking the Question Mark icon on any HoneyBook page. Our team is always happy to help!

Did this answer your question?