All Collections
My Workflow
Projects & workspaces
Bulk updating projects through the project pipeline
Bulk updating projects through the project pipeline

How to move, delete, archive, add a team member to, or send an email to multiple projects at once via your project pipeline

Updated over a week ago

Bulk actions in your project pipeline allow you to move, delete, archive, add a team member to, or send an email to many projects at once. As of now, bulk updating is only available to the account owner. Anyone can, of course, still delete, move, archive, or send emails to their own projects individually.


Sending a bulk email


Emailing through the pipeline allows you to send a bulk email to multiple projects at once. All members in the selected projects will receive the email you send—individually, of course, so no one can see each others' email addresses. The email will also appear in the activity feed of each selected project for easy tracking.

This helps you:

  • Save time by communicating with multiple clients in one easy step

  • Segment your batch sends by project stages and project dates (ideal for proactive outreach and avoiding cancellations!)

  • See all emailed communications right in your activity feed for each project

  • Know whether clients have opened your email on a project by project basis, so you always know when to follow up


Please note that at the moment:

  • The bulk email action will only visible to users that have set up their email integrated with HoneyBook

  • You may select up to 100 projects per bulk email

  • You may send 10 bulk emails per 24-hour period


Once sent, your email will go out to every participant within the projects you selected. You'll be able to see these emails tracked in the activity feed of the projects you selected, and you'll also be able to track if and when the project participants open the email.


Updating project status or stage


Moving projects allows you to change the projects' stages—i.e., where in the pipeline they currently sit.


Archiving a project simply hides it from your main pipeline and pauses any HoneyBook notifications, payment reminders, or automated payments that your client might have been receiving previously. The project will, however, always be accessible in the archived section of your pipeline, and can be un-archived if necessary. Archiving is a great option for general pipeline "clean up." Learn more about what happens when projects are archived here.


Deleting a project will permanently remove the workspace, as well as all files and communication that are housed in it. Only use this option if you're sure there's nothing in the project you need to save!

📣 Note

If a project contains a file on which a payment has been made, the project cannot be deleted—it will need to be archived.


To bulk update the stage/status of your projects:

1.  From your HoneyBook home page, click the Projects tab.

📚 Tip

Make sure you're viewing the projects you want to view by clicking the appropriate tile in the pipeline: active projects, to view all, or a particular pipeline stage to only view projects in that stage.

2.  Once in your selected list of projects, hover over a project and check the box that appears on the left side of the screen. This will make your bulk action options visible.

3.  Check the boxes of the projects you want to move, archive, or delete. Or, just check the box at the top of the column to select all projects in the list you're viewing!

4.  Click the appropriate bulk action icon to choose what you’d like to do with these projects. You can:

  • Move projects to another pipeline stage

  • Archive projects (moving them to the archived stage)

  • Delete them from your HoneyBook account

5.  Depending on which action you take, you may need to:

  • Select the pipeline stage to which you’ll move your projects

  • Select the reason for archiving your projects

  • Confirm you’d like to delete your projects


Adding team members

To bulk add team members to projects:

1. From your HoneyBook home page, click the Projects tab.

📚 Tip

Make sure you're viewing the projects you want to view by clicking the appropriate tile in the pipeline: active projects, to view all, or a particular pipeline stage to only view projects in that stage.

2. Once in your selected list of projects, hover over a project and check the box that appears on the left side of the screen. This will make your bulk action options visible.

3. Check the boxes of the projects you want to add team members to. Or, just check the box at the top of the column to select all projects in the list you're viewing!

4. Click the Add team members icon.

5. Select the team member(s) you'd like to add to the projects > Add Member.


Troubleshooting

If you receive an error message that the projects you selected cannot be bulk updated, this might be because:

  • You're not the owner of some or all of the selected projects

  • The projects already contain booked files (signed contracts or invoices with completed payments) and therefore cannot be deleted

  • The projects have pending payments and therefore cannot be deleted

  • Another error has occurred


Still have questions? Feel free to send us a message by clicking the Question Mark icon on any HoneyBook page. Our team is always happy to help!

Did this answer your question?