Skip to main content
Taking notes about a client

Record meeting notes, jot down important pieces of info, and keep track of any inspiration that comes to you.

Updated over a week ago

Quickly and easily take notes about your clients all from within HoneyBook. Record meeting notes, jot down important pieces of info, and keep track of any inspiration that comes to you without having to keep track of what’s written where.


Manage notes from the client workspace

Recording notes about a client can be especially helpful if they’re a recurring client. Notes created here can appear in projects as well if you link the note to the project, but you can also create notes here that aren’t linked to any project.

Add notes to a client’s profile

Notes added to a client’s profile are not automatically linked to a project, but you can link them when creating the note.

1. From the top navigation menu, select Contacts.

2. Select the client you’ll add a note to.

3. Select the Notes tab.

4. Select Add a note.

5. Write your note and give it a title. Notes auto-save as you write them.

6. If this note is for a meeting, select Add to a meeting below the note’s title, then select the meeting.

a. To remove a linked meeting, return to the note and select the meeting → Remove Meeting.

b. Linking the note to a meeting will also link the note to the meeting’s project.

7. If this note is for a project, select Add to a project below the note’s title, then select the project or create a new project that the note should be linked to..

a. To remove a linked project, return to the note and select the project → Remove Project.

📣 Note

Removing the linked project from a note will also remove the linked meeting.

8. Decide if the note should be visible to the project’s clients. The eye icon tells you if the note is visible to clients.

a. Notes must be linked to a project for them to be visible to clients.

b. Notes aren’t visible to clients by default.

c. If the note is made visible, your client can view them from the client portal.

d. You can also control the note’s visibility from the Notes tab. Select the triple-dot icon on the note’s card → select Visible to clients.

The note will appear in the Notes tab. View what you wrote by selecting the note. Edit notes by returning to them and making your changes—the note will automatically save the changes.

Filter your client notes to search for specific ones (like notes linked to a project), and sort notes by when they were most recently edited or by their initial creation date.

Note

Client notes can also be accessed via the project workspace if the note was linked to a project. If the note was linked to a meeting, you can also access the note through the HoneyBook calendar.

Duplicate or delete a note from a client’s profile

1. From the top navigation menu, select Contacts.

2. Select the client from which you’ll duplicate or delete a note.

3. Select the Notes tab.

4. Select the note you want to duplicate or delete.

a. Duplicate the note by selecting the triple-dot icon → select Duplicate.

b. Delete the note by selecting the triple-dot icon → select Delete → select Delete Note.

You can also duplicate or delete the note from the Notes tab.

📣 Note

Duplicating or deleting notes from your client workspace will duplicate/delete them from your project workspace (if you linked the note to a project) as well as your calendar’s sessions (if you linked the note to a meeting).


FAQs

What can the different team member roles do with client notes?

Here’s what team members’ access to notes looks like if the note isn’t linked to a project:

  • Basic: Cannot view notes that are not related to projects they were assigned to

  • Moderator: Can only view existing notes that aren’t related to projects

  • Admin: Can only view and edit existing notes that aren’t related to projects

  • Super Admin: Can view, edit, and add notes that aren’t related to projects

If the note is linked to a project and a team member wants to access it from the client workspace, permissions get slightly more complicated. Note that any teammate who’s part of the project can view, edit, and add to its notes, regardless of member role.

  • Basic: Cannot view, edit, or add project notes if the team member isn’t part of the linked project.

  • Moderator: Can only view existing project notes if the team member isn’t part of the linked project. Cannot edit or add notes.

  • Admin: Can view and edit existing project notes if the team member isn’t part of the linked project. Cannot add notes.

  • Super Admin: Can view, edit, and add project notes even if the team member isn’t part of the linked project.


Still have questions? Feel free to send us a message by clicking the Question Mark icon on any HoneyBook page. Our team is always happy to help!

Did this answer your question?