Skip to main content
All CollectionsProject ManagementProjects
How to take notes about a project
How to take notes about a project

Record meeting notes, jot down important pieces of info, and keep track of any inspiration that comes to you.

Updated this week

Take notes about your projects directly within HoneyBook. Record meeting notes, jot down important pieces of info, and keep track of any inspiration that comes to you without having to keep track of what’s written where.


Manage notes from the project workspace

Record notes specific to a project without having to leave the project workspace. Notes created here won’t appear in other projects, so you’ll always have the most relevant notes to what you’re working on.

Add notes to a project

These notes will automatically get linked to the project you’re working in, and will appear in the Notes tab. Edit notes by returning to them and making your changes—the note will automatically save the changes.

Filter your project notes to search for specific ones (like if the note is visible to the client), and sort notes by when they were most recently edited or by their initial creation date.

1. From the top navigation menu, select Projects

2. Select the project you’ll add a note to

3. Select the Notes tab

4. Select Add a note

5. Write your note and give it a title

a. Notes auto-save as you write them

6. If this note is for a meeting, select Add to a meeting below the note’s title, then select the meeting

a. To remove a linked meeting, return to the note and select the meeting > select Remove Meeting

7. Decide if the note should be visible to your client using the client portal

a. The eye icon tells you if the note is visible to clients

b. Notes aren’t visible to clients by default

c. You can also control the note’s visibility from the Notes tab

i. Select the triple-dot icon on the note’s card > select Visible to clients

Note

Project notes can also be accessed using the client workspace if you’re viewing the client associated with the project. If the note was linked to a meeting, you can also access the note through the HoneyBook calendar.

Duplicate or delete a note from a project

  1. From the top navigation menu, select Projects

  2. Select the project from which you’ll duplicate or delete a note

  3. Select the Notes tab

  4. Select the note you want to duplicate or delete

    1. Duplicate the note by selecting the triple-dot icon > select Duplicate

    2. Delete the note by selecting the triple-dot icon > select Delete > select Delete Note

Unnamed

You can also duplicate or delete the note from the Notes tab by selecting the triple-dot icon on the note’s card > Duplicate or Delete.

Unnamed

📣 Note

Duplicating or deleting notes from your project workspace will duplicate/delete them from your client workspace as well as your calendar’s sessions (if you linked the note to a meeting).


Team roles and project notes

Any teammate who’s part of the project can view, edit, and add to its notes, regardless of member role. Here’s what team members’ access looks like if they aren’t part of the project:

  • Basic: Cannot view, edit, or add project notes if the team member isn’t part of the project.

  • Moderator: Can only view existing project notes if the team member isn’t part of the project. Cannot edit or add notes.

  • Admin: Can view and edit existing project notes if the team member isn’t part of the project. Cannot add notes.

  • Super Admin: Can view, edit, and add project notes if the team member isn’t part of the project.

Still have questions? Feel free to send us a message by clicking the Question Mark icon on any HoneyBook page. Our team is always happy to help!

Did this answer your question?