Managing bookkeeper access

How to invite a bookkeeper and manage their access, plus what they'll see in your HoneyBook account

Updated over a week ago

When you invite a bookkeeper to join your company in HoneyBook, they’ll have access to a limited view of your account, with all financial data and report analytics. Bookkeeping, made easy.

📣 Note

This article references accounts with multiple team members, available for HoneyBook’s Essentials and Premium plan members. Learn more about the features included in each plan here.


Granting bookkeeper access

📚 Tip

Only super admin team members and account owners are able to grant bookkeeper access.

Existing team members cannot be added as bookkeepers. If you need to add a member of your team as a bookkeeper, use an alternate email address or remove them from your team first.

To invite a bookkeeper to join your company:

1. From any page, click your profile photo in the top right corner of your screen.

2. Select Company Settings from the menu.

3. Select the Team tab.

4. Under Bookkeeper access, select Give Access.

5. Enter in your bookkeeper's work email, full name, and company name.

6. Enter additional contact information if desired.

7. Click the Invite button.

a. You can grant access to as many bookkeepers as needed.

Your bookkeeper will receive an email invitation with a special link, prompting them to head to HoneyBook, set their password (if they haven’t already done so), and log in to view your financial and reporting information.


Extending bookkeeper access

When you invite a bookkeeper to join your HoneyBook company, their access is valid for 365 days. If you're still working together, you can extend their access at any time.

To extend your bookkeeper's access:

1. Head to the Bookkeeper access section of the Team tab in your settings.

2. Click the three dot icon next to the bookkeeper's name.

3. Select Extend access.

This will extend your bookkeeper's access by an additional 365 days. Remember: you can revoke access at any time by following the steps below.


Revoking bookkeeper access

Your bookkeeper's access will automatically expire 365 days after you’ve granted it (or, if you’ve extended access, once that period is up), but you can also revoke their access at any time.

To revoke your bookkeeper's access:

1. Head to the Bookkeeper access section of the Team tab in your settings.

2. Click the three dot icon next to the bookkeeper's name.

3. Select Revoke access.

You’ll see the bookkeeper's status change to Revoked, and they'll no longer be able to log in to your account.


Bookkeeper experience in HoneyBook

When you invite a bookkeeper to join your company in HoneyBook, they’ll receive an email invitation with a special link, prompting them to head to HoneyBook, set their password (if they haven’t already done so), and log in.

Once logged in, your bookkeeper will have access to your Bookkeeping and Reports tabs.

Can

Cannot

View Reports page

Download CSV reports

View Payments page

View Expenses

View Profit & Loss

View and edit Quickbooks integration

X Go inside projects

X See account overview

X Add projects

X View or edit bank account or

membership information

If your bookkeeper already has a paid HoneyBook account, they can switch to bookkeeper view at any time by clicking their profile photo in the top right corner of the screen → Bookkeeper Access.

If your bookkeeper is added to multiple companies in HoneyBook, they can toggle between client accounts by clicking their profile photo in the top right corner of the screen → select a new company name.


Still have questions? Feel free to send us a message by clicking the Question Mark icon on any HoneyBook page. Our team is always happy to help!

Did this answer your question?