Projects can change fast, which is why smart files make it easy to keep your clients up to date. When making select edits to a sent file, you’ll be required to notify your client via email so that they can approve the changes–and in some cases, re-sign the contract—before moving forward.

Need guidance on how to edit and resend a smart file? Check out this article to learn more!


This article references smart files, our newest file experience offering more power and customization than ever. Click here to learn more about smart files and add them to your account!


Below, we’ll outline the actions (if any) required of you and your client, based on the smart file’s status when you make:

We’ll also cover the client-side experience, like what they’ll see and how they can approve changes!


Making edits to a services block

There’s one exception where you will always be required to notify your client:

  • Client selected multiple services > services block changed to single selection or view only: client must be notified of and approve changes and the service selections will be reset


Making edits to a contract block


Making edits to an invoice block

PLEASE NOTE: If automatic payments are turned on for a file and edits are made to the invoice, autopay will be canceled. The client can turn autopay back on when making the next payment in the payment schedule (and after approving changes).


Client-side experience

You’ve made edits to a sent smart file, and your next question might be—what will my client see when they open the updated file? We’re glad you asked!

If you’ve made changes that don’t require any notification or action: remember, you can choose to email the client to alert them to the updates, or not. They’ll see the changes next time they open the smart file either way, and they won’t be required to take any action on the updates—but we do recommend letting them know with an email.

If you’ve made changes that require your client to approve the changes: you’ll be required to send your client an email. When your client accesses the file, they’ll see a banner that instructs them to review and approve the changes. After they click Approve revisions, they’ll be able to take any remaining actions on the file.

If you’ve made changes that require your client to approve the changes AND re-sign the contract: you'll be required to send your client an email. When your client accesses the file, they’ll see a banner that instructs them to review and approve the changes. They’ll then be prompted to re-sign the contract, as shown in the gif below! After they click Approve revisions and re-sign, they’ll be able to take any remaining actions on the file.

Want to learn more?

Still have questions? Feel free to send us a message by clicking the Question Mark icon on any HoneyBook page. Our team is always happy to help!

Did this answer your question?