All Collections
Getting Started
Clients & Creatives
Customizing and sharing your client portal
Customizing and sharing your client portal

How to personalize and share your client portal, where clients can view and take action in their project workspaces

Updated over a week ago

Once you create a project to communicate and share files with your client, you can give them access to the client portal.

💡 The client portal is the client-side view of a project workspace. Whenever you send files and emails to clients through HoneyBook, they'll always have access to the portal. If you ever need to share a direct link to the client portal with a contact, you can do that, too (and we'll cover the how-to below!).

Clients have access only to the projects that they are part of. Learn more about your clients' experience with the client portal here.

Depending on how you share your client portal link, recipients will either be dropped directly into the project workspace with loginless access, OR brought to a login page. You can customize this login page to fit your branding, and we'll cover the steps to do so below.

📣 Note

Only super admins, admins, and account owners are able to customize and share the client portal.



Customize the client portal login screen

Before you get started: Make sure you've claimed your client portal URL, either through our domain OR by connecting your custom domain. Here's how to claim your client portal URL.

1. From any page, click your profile photo in the top right corner of your screen > select Company Settings from the menu.

2. Select the Domain & Client Portal tab.

3. Click Customize Screen in the Portal login screen preview section.

4. From here:

  • Set your background color

  • Set whether you’d like to display your logo (in square or full size)

📚 Tip

Make sure you’ve uploaded your logos in your company brand section—then, you can include on your login screen.

  • Select whether you'd like to display your company name (set under your company brand section) or enter custom text

  • Preview the login screen on desktop or mobile

5. Click Save when you’re ready.

Your customized login page will show whenever you share, and a recipient clicks on, your general client portal link.



Share your client portal

Sharing your unique client portal is easy! It can be shared through your Domain & Client Portal tab or right through individual projects, where it can be sent to any participants.

From your Settings

1.  From any page, click your profile photo in the top right corner of your screen > select Company Settings from the menu.

2. Select the Domain & Client Portal tab.

3.  In the URL field, click the Send Link icon.

4.  Enter the email address(es) of the contacts with which you’d like to share your link.

📣 Note

Only email addresses that are associated with projects in your account will be available to select.

5.  When you’re ready, click Review Email.

6.  Make any edits you need to the client portal email you’ll be sharing, then click Send.

Your client(s) will receive the message in their email inbox, including a unique link to the client portal. When they click the link, they'll be brought right into the project workspace, with loginless access!

📚 Tip

Learn more about your clients' experience with the client portal here.


Copy a general link to share

1. From any page, click your profile photo in the top right corner of your screen > select Company Settings from the menu.

2. Select the Domain & Client Portal tab.

3. In the URL field, click the Copy Link icon.

📣 Note

Copying this link will copy your generic client portal link. When you share it and it's clicked, it will prompt the recipient to log in to view the client portal, or enter their email to send a magic link.

5. Share the link.

📚 Tip

Consider going to your website and adding a tab, a button, or an entire landing page dedicated to giving your clients access to the client portal. Simply connect the copied client portal URL to the tab, button, or landing page to redirect your clients from your site.

Check out your website host's Help Center for more info on this. Here's how to do it on Squarespace.

Recipients of the general link will be brought to your client portal login page. From here, they can:

  • Enter their email and password (if they've already set one) > click Log in

  • Click Email me a link > enter the email associated with the project. They'll be sent a magic link to the email that they enter, which they can click on for loginless project access

  • Click Forgot password? if they forgot theirs, or if they'd like to set one for the first time

📚 Tip

Learn more about your clients' experience with the client portal here.

From within a project

1.  From your HoneyBook home page, navigate to the project through which you’ll be sharing your portal link.

  • You can search for a specific project via the search icon, or select the Projects tab to review your full list of projects.

2.  In the Only visible to you section, click Send client portal link.

3.  Select the project participants with whom you’d like to share the link.

📣 Note

When sharing directly through a project, you’ll only be able to select participants for that specific project as recipients. If you'd like to share with clients who are participants in different projects, check out sharing your link from your Settings.

4.  Click Review Email.

5.  Make any edits you need to the client portal email you’ll be sharing, and click Send.

Your client(s) will receive the message in their email inbox, including a unique link to the client portal. When they click the link, they'll be brought right into the project workspace, with loginless access!

📚 Tip

Learn more about your clients' experience with the client portal here.


Still have questions? Feel free to send us a message by clicking the Question Mark icon on any HoneyBook page. Our team is always happy to help!

Did this answer your question?