Growing Your Business, Lesson 2: Projects & Files to Get You Booked
Section 4: Your clients’ HoneyBook experience


While you're the one that will be spending the most time in HoneyBook, your clients will come in contact with the platform as well—but we still want to make sure it feels like you and your business!



Your Client Portal
allows your clients to access a limited version of the Project you’ve created for them in HoneyBook. They can easily review anything your explicitly sent them—emails, files, and attachments—as well as their Project details, without giving them access to internal details like notes, Workflows, Project stages, etc.  


Within their Client Portal, your clients CAN:

  • View & take action on any files you’ve explicitly sent them
  • Make new payments and view already processed payments
  • View the Activity Feed of the Project (including emails, actions they’ve taken on files, etc.)
  • Email Project participants through the Activity Feed
  • View (but not edit) public-facing Project Details


Within their Client Portal, your clients CANNOT:

  • View internal notes you’ve added
  • View files that have been drafted, but not sent
  • Edit Project Details
  • View your Project Options toolbar (time tracker, Workflows, etc.)



While clients will always be able to access the emails and files you send them directly, creating and distributing a unique link to your Client Portal directs clients to a login screen—branded to look like your business!—to create/input a password, then drops them into their full Project (instead of directly into a file). It’s a great way to extend your brand even further, essentially white-labeling the HoneyBook experience for your clients!



PLEASE NOTE:
At this time, only account Admins are able to customize and share the Client Portal.




In this section, we'll review:





Customizing your Client Portal


1.  From any page, click your profile photo in the top right corner of your screen. 

2.  Select Company Settings from the menu.

3.  Select the Client Portal tab.

4.  In the URL field, click the pencil icon to enter the URL you’d like to use. 

  • We’ll auto-populate the URL with your company name, but you can adjust any text before .hbportal.co/app/
  • If you need to adjust your URL after you’ve claimed it, click the pencil icon to edit.

PLEASE NOTE: You are only able to edit or create a new URL 3 times—choose wisely!

5.  Click Save URL when you're ready.

6.  Once you claim your URL, you can personalize your Portal’s login screen. To do so, click Customize Screen in the Login Screen Preview section.

7.  Select your background color and whether you’d like to display your logo (in square or full size).

  • PLEASE NOTE: Make sure you’ve uploaded your full-size and square logos in your Company Brand section—then, you can include it on your login screen! 

8.  Click Save when you’re ready!

HoneyBook Tip: Want to see how your login screen will look on mobile? Click the mobile phone icon at the top of the screen to preview!





Sharing your Client Portal



Once you’ve claimed your URL and customized the design of your Client Portal, it’s time to start sharing! 

As discussed, sharing your portal link directs clients to a login screen—branded to look like your business!—prompting them to create/input a password. Then, they’ll be dropped into their full Project (instead of directly into a file). The link can be shared through your Client Portal Settings page or right through individual Projects, and can be sent to any clients that are set up as Project participants.


To share the link from your Client Portal Settings:

1.  From any page, click your profile photo in the top right corner of your screen. 

2.  Select Company Settings from the menu.

3.  Select the Client Portal tab.

4.  In the URL field, click the Share icon.

5.  Enter the email address(es) with which you’d like to share your link.

PLEASE NOTE: Only email addresses that are associated with Projects in your account will be available to select, and clients will need to log in using the email address they have associated with those Projects. Contacts that are not Project participants, even those that are currently in your Contact List, will not be able to gain access to their Portal, nor will you be able to share the link with them from here.

6.  When you’re ready, click Review Email.

7.  Make any edits you need to the email you’ll be sharing, and click Send.



To share the link from within a Project:

1.  From your HoneyBook home page, navigate to the Project through which you’ll be sharing your Portal link.

  • You can search for a specific Project via the search icon, or select the Projects tab to review your full list of Projects.

2.  In the Project Options section, click Send Client Portal Link.

3.  Select the Project participants with whom you’d like to share the link.

PLEASE NOTE: When sharing directly through a Project, you’ll only be able to select participants for that specific Project as recipients.

4.  Click Review Email.

5.  Make any edits you need to the email you’ll be sharing, and click Send.


Your client will receive an email letting them know that they now have access to the Client Portal, and providing them with a link to create their login. From there, they’ll be able to select a password and access their Portal!




In the next lesson, Your Clients' Experience with Files, we'll finish our review of the client-side experience as we explore what your clients will see when you send them Brochures, Invoices, Contracts, & Proposals!









Have questions? Feel free to send us a message by clicking the Question Mark icon on any HoneyBook page. Our team is always happy to help!

Did this answer your question?