If time is money then your calendar is a potential goldmine. Syncing your Google calendar in HoneyBook will help you stay on top of your day-to-day and make sure that a minor scheduling error doesn’t lead to a major missed opportunity.
Here’s what WILL sync from your Google calendar into HoneyBook:
Meetings: these will only show on the synced person’s calendar (not on team members’ calendars)
Tentative projects: any project that has not yet been booked. Typically this is a new inquiry or a client project with no bookable files - no contract signed or retainer paid.
Booked projects: any project that has either a signed contract or the first payment (retainer) paid. This would generally be inside a Proposal or Invoice.
Just a note: You cannot manually mark a project as “Booked” on your calendar. If you wish to have a project show up as “Booked,” you must have a signed contract or payment submitted by your client. (Did your client pay outside of HoneyBook? Refer to our help article here on how to manually mark a payment as “PAID”)
The following WILL NOT sync from your Google calendar:
Payments: this includes “Unpaid” and “Overdue” payments
Archived projects: these will not show up on your HoneyBook calendar along with any “Unpaid” or “Overdue” payments associated with an archived project
TBD projects: projects that have been marked with a project date of “TBD” will not show up on your HoneyBook calendar
HoneyBook Calendar for Teams
As owner of the HoneyBook account, you will be able to see all projects that you have created (making you the project owner) or projects that you have been invited to (making you a project participant).
If you’ve added team members to your HoneyBook account, they will each have their own separate HoneyBook calendar that can be accessed by selecting “Calendar” from “Home” or “Tools” in the main navigation. Like an account owner, the projects that will show up on a team member’s calendar are ones that they have created (project owner) or been invited to (project participant).
If you’d like all team members’ calendars to be visible to everyone, you can turn this on under Company Settings → Team (note that this can only be done by the Account Owner).
This will activate the team calendar view, which can be toggled on and off for each team member to view only their own projects or projects across teams within their HoneyBook calendar.
Sharing your Calendar
If you’d like to allow a team member to view your calendar, this must be done through Google. Simply sync your Google calendar with HoneyBook, then go to Google to share it with that team member. Once it’s been shared through Google and that team member has synced their Google calendar with HoneyBook, they’ll be able to view all pertinent information in your calendar.